Bureau of Fire Prevention

Bureau of Fire Prevention -Office: Municipal Building – 3rd Floor

Thomas Derienzo, Jr.– Fire Official

Anthony M. Silletto & Sam Antoshak – Fire Inspectors

William Bilias – Fire Department Director
Phone:  201-263-0549
The Bureau of Fire Prevention enforces the New Jersey Uniform Fire Safety Act and the codes and regulations adopted under it in all buildings, structures and premises within the Township of Washington.

Carbon Monoxide & Smoke Detector Inspections
Upon sale of your home, an inspection to ensure that your home is compliant with NJ State Fire Codes with respect to Carbon Monoxide and Smoke Detector inspections must be performed prior to closing.
To schedule an inspection, please contact the Building Department at 201-666-0462. 
You must have the following to avoid a re-inspection and the extra fee:
  1. You will need a 2A:10BC fire extinguisher mounted in the Kitchen on the wall.  This extinguisher must be within 10 feet of your kitchen, BUT NOT on the other side of any type of door.
  2. You will need a minimum of one smoke detector on each level of the home.
  3. You will need one carbon monoxide detector within 10 feet of any bedroom.  It may be plug-in or battery operated.
Note:  Please remember to contact the Building Department as a Certificate of Continued Occupancy (CCO) is required prior to the sale of any house.
Residential Dwelling Inspection Fee Schedule
Smoke, Carbon Monoxide & Fire Extinguisher Compliance

Time Frame Fees
10 days or more before closing $40.00
9  days or less before closing $75.00
Re-inspection fee $50.00
Non-Life Hazard Uses
In addition to the inspections required pursuant to the Uniform Fire Safety Act and the regulations adopted there under, all buildings, structures and uses within the Township of Washington, except for owner-occupied one- and two-family dwelling units, shall be inspected for compliance with the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code annually. 
Non Life Hazard Registration Fees
Fees apply to each business (income producing property) at each street address

Building size Registration Re-inspection Fee
  Annual Fee Late Fee 1st 2nd 3rd
Less than 1499 sq. ft. $ 100.00 $ 100.00 0.00 $50.00 $100.00
1,500 to 2,500 sq. ft. $ 150.00 $ 150.00 0.00 $50.00 $100.00
2,501 to 4,000 sq. ft. $ 200.00 $ 200.00 0.00 $50.00 $100.00
4,001 to 8,000 sq. ft. $ 250.00 $ 250.00 0.00 $50.00 $100.00
8,001 to 10,000 sq. ft. $ 300.00 $ 300.00 0.00 $50.00 $100.00
10,001 to 15,000 sq. ft. $ 350.00 $ 350.00 0.00 $50.00 $100.00
15,001 to 20,000 $ 400.00 $ 400.00 0.00 $50.00 $100.00
20,001 and over $ 450.00 $ 450.00 0.00 $50.00 $100.00
Residential Dwelling Registration
Fees apply to each non-owner occupied residential dwelling at each street address

Minimum Fee per unit Registration Re-inspection Fee
  Annual Fee Late Fee 1st 2nd 3rd
1 to 4 units minimum $100.00 $100.00 No Charge $50.00 $100.00
Per unit over the minimum $20.00        
Fire Prevention Forms